The King is Dead

Monday, July 24, 2017

Gargoyle Super Powers Companion Racial Package

All gargoyle characters begin with 40 of their base 45 Power Points dedicated to the following racial abilities; these abilities do count against their power limit totals. Super Karma can be used to gain additional Power Points. 

  • Armor (5): Armor +14, Limitation (Major; during stone sleep only).

  • Attack, Melee (5): Str+d6, AP 2, Heavy Weapon.

  • Fear (1): Scary.

  • Flight (8): 4 x Pace, Switchable, Limitation (Minor; gliding, requires altitude and wind currents), Requires Activation (must unfurl wings). Switches with Leaping and Speed. (Note that gargoyle beasts like Bronx do not possess this power, and therefore gain 1 additional Power Point to spend as the player sees fit.)

  • Heightened Senses (2): Low Light Vision, Tracking.

  • Leaping (5): Bounce, Death From Above, Switchable. Switches with Flight and Speed.

  • Regeneration (0): natural healing roll every day, Limitation (Major; occurs during stone sleep).

  • Speed (7): 2 x Pace, Blinding Reflexes, Catch and Throw, Switchable, Limitation (Minor; movement at increased Pace requires running on all fours). Switches with Flight and Leaping.

  • Super Attribute (12): Agility d10, Strength d10.

  • Super Edge (2): Berserker (yes, I know it isn’t a Combat Edge, but it’s pretty obvious all gargoyles have it).

  • Toughness (5)

  • Wall Walker (0): Limitation (Minor; cannot climb surfaces their claws cannot pierce).

The remaining 10 Power Points can be spent on improving existing powers with the following limitations:

  • Attack, Melee: maximum Str+2d6 damage (see Cartoon Violence)

  • Flight: additional points can only be spent to increase Climb (gargoyles glide, not fly, so improving their speed to 120 mph or more seems out of character).

  • Heightened Sense: no Spatial Sense.

  • Leaping: maximum of level 2.

  • Speed: maximum 4 x Pace.

Or on the following powers with the following limitations:

  • Animal Control: Only to purchase a gargoyle beast as an Animal Companion (but I advise making them as player characters instead).

  • Aquatic: An amphibious Loch Ness clan is canon according to series creator Greg Weisman, though they never appeared in the show or comic.

  • Attack, Ranged: Some gargoyle clans may have manticore-like tail barbs or similar abilities; see Cartoon Violence above for damage limitations.

  • Danger Sense

  • Deflection

  • Extra Limbs: one extra limb only; note that while all gargoyles have prehensile tails, most lack the tail-eye coordination to use their tails at the same time as their hands. The snake-bodied members of the Mayan clan are a notable exception.

  • Growth: maximum Size +3; as this reflects the gargoyle being of unusual height or breadth (like Goliath or Broadway) this ability always has the Monster modifier.

  • Invent

  • Parry

  • Sidekick: again, building fellow clan-mates as additional player characters is preferable.

  • Super Edge

  • Super Skill

  • Uncanny Reflexes

Note that some canonical gargoyle characters possess additional powers not recommended for player characters. Game Masters and players should discuss whether to allow these powers for heroes.

  • Ageless: While gargoyles live twice as long as humans naturally, this indicates magical or scientific meddling in the character’s lifespan (such as with Demona).

  • Construct: A cyborg or android built in the image of or inhabited by the consciousness of a gargoyle like Coldstone, Coldsteel, and Coldfire. Construct gargoyles may ignore the limitations on flying speed above.

  • Minions

  • Regeneration: Ageless beings like Demona and Macbeth may take advanced levels of the regenerationpower and even the Regrowth modifier.

  • Super Sorcery: Though no canonical gargoyle possesses the super-sorcery of the fae, it remains possible that one of Oberon’s Children may have had half-blooded offspring with a gargoyle – just as Titania did with the human Halcyon Renard.

No comments:

Post a Comment